Non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread barred from holy communion

Non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread barred from holy communion
Share:
Non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread barred from holy communion
Author: George Lithgow
Published: Feb, 09 2025 15:50

Summary at a Glance

“First, that bread made with wheat and the fermented juice of the grape are the elements to be consecrated in holy communion; and second, that receiving holy communion in one kind in a case of necessity is not an ‘exclusion’ but full participation in the sacrament, as often practised in the communion of the sick, or with children,” Mr Ipgrave said.

Non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread barred from holy communion Non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread cannot be used during holy communion, the governing body of the Church of England has ruled.

Church guidance says the bread must be made using wheat flour and wine must be the fermented juice of the grape in order to be consecrated as part of the service.

“Both priests and congregants who are unable to consume gluten and/or alcohol are forced to receive in one kind only or may be prohibited from receiving both elements if they are unable to consume both gluten and alcohol,” she said.

In papers published ahead of the Church’s General Synod, also known as its parliament, which opens on Monday, the barrier for anyone who cannot consume wheat flour or alcohol was described as an “injustice”.

Share:

More for You

Top Followed